Specialty News

doi: 10.1097/01.NEP.0000393759.60741.21
Specialty News

The American Society of Nephrology (ASN) honored the following individuals with awards during its Renal Week 2010 in Denver:

* Barry M. Brenner, MD, Director Emeritus of the Renal Division at Brigham and Women's Hospital and Samuel A. Levine Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, was presented with the Robert G. Narins Award, which recognizes contributions to education and teaching. Dr. Brenner's basic and clinical research has focused on mechanisms of glomerular function in health and disease, and he is generally considered the world's leading authority on the topic, the ASN noted. Dr. Brenner is the only person to have received both the Homer W. Smith Award for basic science and the John P. Peters Award for clinical science from the society.

* Roland C. Blantz, MD, Professor of Medicine and Head of the Division of Nephrology–Hypertension at the University of California, San Diego, was presented with the John P. Peters Award, which honors contributions to nephrology research in areas of academic medicine, including clinical care, education, and leadership. Dr. Blantz's work has included a concentration on the role of angiotensin in the regulation of blood pressure and kidney hemodynamics, the society noted. His research team has proposed novel mechanisms for glomerular hyperfiltration and paradoxical responses to sodium intake in the diabetic kidney, and recent studies have examined the role of variations in metabolism and oxygen consumption in the healthy kidney compared with a chronic kidney disease model.

* Hans-Henrik Parving, MD, DMSc, Professor and Chief Physician in the Department of Medical Endocrinology at Rigshospitalet—Copenhagen University Hospital—received the Belding H. Scribner Award, which acknowledges contributions to patient care or clinical practice in nephrology. Dr. Parving's research documented the lifesaving importance of early intensive antihypertensive treatment in diabetic nephropathy and the significance of microalbuminuria as a risk marker for the development of diabetic kidney disease, the ASN noted. For example, his team recently demonstrated the renoprotective effects in diabetic nephropathy of dual renin-angiotensin system blockade and of ultrahigh doses of angiotensin II receptor antagonists, aldosterone blockade, and direct renin inhibition.

* Wilhelm Kriz, MD, Acting Chair of the newly founded Department of Anatomy at the University of Heidelberg in Mannheim, Germany, as well as Professor Emeritus of Anatomy there, received the Homer W. Smith Award, which recognizes contributions to the understanding of how kidneys function in normal and diseased states. In Dr. Kriz's main research interests include the pathology of progressive renal disease and structure-function correlations in the kidney.

* Nicholas Katsanis, PhD, Jean and George Brumley Jr., MD, Professor of Developmental Biology; Professor of Pediatrics and of Cell Biology; and Director of the Center for Human Disease Modeling at Duke University, was presented with the Young Investigator Award. Dr. Katsanis has performed “groundbreaking research” on Bardet-Biedl syndrome, a rare genetic disorder characterized by renal failure, obesity, and blindness, the society noted. Dr. Katsanis's laboratory is attempting to identify the causative genes of Bardet-Biedl syndrome and determine why disease severity varies from person to person. His group is credited with early work showing that monogenic disorders are much more complicated than previously believed.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.