Skip Navigation LinksHome > Editorial Board

Editorial Board

Editor
Lloyd F. Novick, MD, MPH
Professor Emeritus
Department of Public Health
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
Greenville, North Carolina
novickl@ecu.edu

Associate Editor
Justin B. Moore, PhD, MS, FACSM
Assistant Professor
Department of Health Promotion, Education, & Behavior
& Office of Public Health Practice
Arnold School of Public Health
University of South Carolina
Columbia, South Carolina
jmoore@mailbox.sc.edu

Consulting Editors

Consulting Editor for Biostatistics
Gulzar Shah, PhD, MStat, MSS
Associate Professor and Director of Research
Jiann-Ping Hsu School of Public Health
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA
gshah@georgiasouthern.edu

Consulting Editor for Environmental and Occupational Health
Greg Kearney, DrPH, MPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Public Health
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC
kearneyg@ecu.edu

Consulting Editor for Infectious Diseases
Benedict I. Truman, MD, MPH
Associate Director for Science
National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA
bit1@cdc.gov

Consulting Editor for Public Health Ethics
Daniel Goldberg, JD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC
goldbergd@ecu.edu  

Consulting Editor for Human Subjects Protection
Patricia A. MacCubbin, MS
38 Northshore Drive
Burlington, VT 05408
pmac17@vermontsailor.net


Editorial Board

Mohamed S. Al-Ibrahim, MD, FACP
Chief Medical Officer
Shin Nippon Biomedical Laboratories
Baltimore, MD
mal-ibrahim@snbl-cpc.com

John Auerbach, MBA
Distinguished Professor of Practice
Director of the Institute on Urban Health Research
j.auerbach@neu.edu

Edward Baker, MSc, MD, MPH
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health
Chapel Hill, NC
elbaker@email.unc.edu

Les Beitsch, MD, JD
Director and Professor
Center for Medicine and Public Health
Florida State University
College of Medicine
Tallahassee, FL
les.beitsch@med.fsu.edu

Jeffrey Bethel, PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Biological and Population Health Sciences
College of Public Health and Human Sciences
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
jeff.bethel@oregonstate.edu  

Bobbie Berkowitz, PhD, RN, CNAA, FAAN
Dean & Professor
Columbia School of Nursing &
Senior Vice President
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY

Bb2509@columbia.edu

Ronald Bialek, MPP
President
Public Health Foundation
Washington, DC
rbialek@phf.org

Guthrie S. Birkhead, MD, MPH
Deputy Commissioner and Director
Office of Public Health
New York State Department of Public Health
Gsb02@health.state.ny.us

Ross Brownson, PhD
George Warren Brown School of Social Work
Department of Surgery
Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
Washington University School of Medicine
Washington University in St. Louis
rbrownson@wustl.edu

Brian C. Castrucci, MA
Chief Program and Strategy Officer
de Beaumont Foundation
Bethesda, MD
brian.castrucci@gmail.com

Terry L. Cline, PhD
Oklahoma Commissioner of Health
terryc@health.ok.gov

Bruce Dart, PhD
Executive Director
Tulsa Health Department
James O. Goodwin Health Center
bdart@tulsa-health.org
 

Kenneth DeVille, PhD, JD
Professor, Department of Medical Humanities
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC
devillek@ecu.edu

Jeffrey Engel, MD
Executive Director
Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists
jengel@cste.org

Paul C. Erwin, MD, MPH
Professor and Department Head
Department of Public Health
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN
perwin@utk.edu

Kristine M. Gebbie, DrPH, RN
Sydney, Australia

Laura Gerald, MD, MPH
Lumberton, NC
geraldmd@aol.com

Paul K. Halverson, DrPH, FACHE
Founding Dean
Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health
Indiana University
pkhalver@iupui.edu

Peggy A. Honore, DHA
Associate Professor
University of Southern Mississippi
US Department Health and Human Services
Office of Public Health and Science
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Office of Minority Health
Peggy.Honore@hhs.gov

Pascal James Imperato, MD, MPH, TM
Distinguished Service Professor and Chair
Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health
State University of New York
Brooklyn, NY
pascal.imperato@downstate.edu

 

Paul Jarris
Executive Director
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Arlington, VA

pjarris@astho.org

Joseph D. Kimbrell, MA, LCSW
Chief Executive Officer
Louisiana Public Health Institute
New Orleans, LA
jkimbrell@lphi.org

Siran M. Koroukian
Associate Professor
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University
skoroukian@case.edu

Marni Kuyl, MS, RN
Deputy Director
Clark County Public Health Department
Vancouver, WA

Marni_Kuyl@co.washington.or.us
  

Maureen Y. Lichtveld, MD, MPH
Professor and Chair
Department of Environmental Health Sciences
Tulane University, SPHTM
mlichtve@tulane.edu

Jay Maddock, PhD, FAAHB
Professor
Office of Public Health Studies
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Honolulu, HI

Rika Maeshiro, MD, MPH
Consultant
Association of American Medical Colleges
Washington, DC
rmaeshiro@aamc.org

J. Michael McGinnis, MD, MPP
Senior Scholar
Institute of Medicine
The National Academies
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC  20001
mcginnis@nas.edu

DeAnne K. Hilfinger Messias, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
College of Nursing
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC
dkmessia@gwm.sc.edu

Cynthia Morrow, MD, MPH
Syracuse University
Upstate Medical University
Syracuse, NY
cbmorrow@gmail.com

John Morrow, MD, MPH
Director
Pitt County Health Department
Greenville, NC
jhmorrow@co.pitt.nc.us

Philip C. Nasca, PhD
Dean, School of Public Health
Adjunct Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
University at Albany – SUNY
Rensselaer, NY
pnasca@albany.edu

LaQuandra Nesbitt, MD, MPH
Director
Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness
Louisville, KY
laquandra.nesbitt@louisvilleky.gov

Maggie Potter, JD
Associate Dean
University of Pittsburgh
School of Public Health
MAPOTTER@pitt.edu

Sallie Rixey, MD, MEd
Program Director
Franklin Square Hospital Center
Baltimore, MD
Sallie.Rixey@medstar.net

Randy Schwartz, MSPH
Vice President, Health Systems
New England Division
American Cancer Society, Inc.
One Bowdoin Mill Island Suite 300
Topsham, ME 04086
Randy.schwartz@cancer.org

Lillian Smith, DrPH, MPH
Assistant Dean, Office of Practice and Community Engagement
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC
smithlu@mailbox.sc.edu

Susan Turner, MD, MPH, MS
Associate Director
Florida Department of Health in Escambia County
Pensacola, FL
Susan.Turner@flhealth.gov
  

Bernard J. Turnock, MD, MPH
Clinical Professor of Community Health Sciences
University of Illinois at Chicago
School of Public Health
Chicago, IL
bturnock@uic.edu                              

Lester N. Wright, MD, MPH
Sydney, Australia