Journal of Occupational & Environmental Medicine:
doi: 10.1097/JOM.0b013e3182191386
People and Events

News Highlights

Section Editor(s): Dreger, Marianne Department Editor

Free Access

Effective January 1, 2011, the following members of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) were certified in the various specialties and subspecialties by the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM):

Certified in Occupational Medicine:

* Enass A. Arahman, MD

* Anna M. Allen, MD

* Eric D. Amster, MD

* Farid R. Bakht, MD

* John P. Barrett, MD

* Sheryl A. Bedno, MD

* Kathryn G. Bird, DO

* Monica L. Brown, MD

* Spencer C. Checketts, MD

* Scott E. Cherry, DO

* Edward H. Chin, MD

* Christopher J. Dea, MD

* Erin E. Duffy, MD

* Gerardo D. Durand, MD

* Rachel C. Fischer, MD

* Randall J. Freeman, MD

* Alyce M. Girardi, MD

* Susane L. Gooding, MD

* Tifani L. Grizzell, MD

* Cody D. Heiner, MD

* Claudia G. Hix, DO

* Duncan G. Hughes, MD

* Julia D. Jacobson, MD

* Sanjeev Kakkar, MD

* Nita Kohli, MD

* Ron Kremer, MD

* Stephen K. Kumar, MD

* Lynn M. Laitinen-Kloss, MD

* Taiwo A. Lawal, MD

* Peter C. Lee, MD

* Ronda Brewer-McCarthy, MD

* Peter G. Matos, DO

* James E. Mazo, MD

* Francisco A. Meza, MD

* Minh Q. Nguyen, DO

* Rita Ohene-Adjei, MD

* Kevin S. Payne, DO

* Carmen Perez, MD

* Amanda R. Phillips-Savoy, MD

* Henry K. Poon, MD

* Shirley J. Pospisil, MD

* Dean L. Prok, MD

* Peter M. Sanfelippo, MD

* Jared E. Schulman, MD

* Erica G. Schwartz, MD

* Erika L. Schwilk, MD

* Qilin Song, MD

* June T. Spector, MD

* James B. Stephenson, MD

* Stephanie W. Stoke, MD

* Jaishree Subramani, MD

* Satish Subramaniam, MBBS

* Simone L. Tramma, MD

* Peter J. Vasquez, MD

* Rajesh Wadhwa, MBBS

* Patrick F. Whitney, MD

* Maureen N. Williams, MD

* Wen Xie, MD

* Jon R. Yankey, MD

Certified in Public Health and General Preventive Medicine:

* Diane N. Ballerino-Regan, MD

* Matthew S. Chambers, MD

* Roxanne N. Danielson, MD

* Yelena Globina, MD

* David L. Grimes, MD

* Aatif M. Hayat, MD

* Megan K. Kloetzel, MD

* Alisa M. Koval, MD

* Tanvir Mahtab, MD

* Peter G. Matos, DO

* Luke E. Mease, MD

* Heidi K. Roeber Rice, MD

* Brigilda C. Teneza, MD

* Devin A. Wiles, DO

Certified in Aerospace Medicine:

* Raymond J. Clydesdale, DO

* Theresa B. Goodman, MD

* Bret D. Heerema, MD

* Kathryn G. Hughes, MD

* Todd P. Huhn, DO

* Valerie V. T. Johnson, MD

* Blake D. Lollis, MD

* David M. Rogers, MD

* Erich W. Schroeder, MD

* Jonathan M. Strobel, DO

* Scott D. Zaleski, MD

Certified in Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine:

* Michael G. Holland, MD

* Lawrence W. Steinkraus, MD

ABPM 2011 examinations will be offered October 3–14 at select testing centers across the United States. The online application process is now open and needs to be completed by June 1, 2011, to avoid late charges. For more information, contact ABPM at 111 West Jackson Street, Suite 1110, Chicago, IL 60604; telephone: 312/939-2276; e-mail:; Web site:

The Society of Occupational Medicine (SOM) will hold its 2011 Annual Scientific Meeting on June 14–16 at Waterfront Hall in Belfast, Ireland. “Psyche, Science and Medicine” is presented in partnership with The Faculty of Occupational Medicine and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

The opening address on June 14 will be given by Dr Olivia Carlton, SOM President. The conference will address key aspects of occupational health practice through the following tracks: International Occupational Medicine; Academic Occupational Medicine; The Science of Occupational Medicine; and The Psyche in Occupational Medicine. Topics include antidoping legislation and performance-enhancing products, challenges of occupational medicine in the Netherlands, implementing a global healthcare system for a multinational business, occupational hazards and reproduction, the impact of drugs on behavior and work performance, assessing environmental consequences of industrial emissions, and electromagnetic fields and human health, among others.

For more information and online registration, visit the SOM Web site at, or direct questions via e-mail to

The Fourth International Conference on Unemployment, Job Insecurity and Health sponsored by the International Commission on Occupational Health (ICOH) and the Finnish Institute of Occupational Health will be held September 21–23, 2011. Hanasaari Cultural Center in Espoo, Finland, is the venue for “From Unemployment to Sustainable Participation in Work: Research, Interventions, and Policies.”

Topics will include health situation of the unemployed, restructuring, job insecurity, transitions to work, the role of HR and OHS during restructuring and downsizing, and interventions for promoting reemployment and health. Scheduled keynote presentations are the following: “Designing, Implementing, and Disseminating Effective Interventions for Unemployed Job Seekers”; “Poor Health as Cause and Consequence of Unemployment: Mechanisms and Interventions”; “Enterprise Restructuring, Health Effects and Health Promotion”; “Organizational Downsizing and Employee Health: Results and Directions for Interventions”; and “Job Insecurity, Employee Health and Well-being: Directions for Interventions.”

Visit the conference Web site ( for more information, or contact the ICOH-UJIH Conference Secretariat: Taija Veriö-Piispanen, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Topeliuksenkatu 41 a A, FI-00250 Helsinki, Finland; telephone: +358 30 474 2717; e-mail:

The annual fall meeting of the Northwest Association of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (NAOEM), an ACOEM component society, will be held September 23–25, 2011. This conference will be held at The Lodge at Suncadia in Cle Elum, Wash.

For additional information, contact Darla White, NAOEM Executive Administrator, 2033 6th Avenue, Suite 1100, Seattle, WA 98121; telephone: 206/956-3642; e-mail:; Web site:

©2011The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine


Article Tools