Share this article on:

Thirty-First Annual Meeting of the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society, Copper Mountain, Colorado, February 13-17, 2005

Trobe, Jonathan D MD

Journal of Neuro-Ophthalmology: June 2005 - Volume 25 - Issue 2 - pp 160-162

Ann Arbor, Michigan

It was back to the slopes of Copper Mountain, Colorado, for the 31st Annual Meeting of the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS). A total of 289 participants shuttled to the 10,000-feet base camp, with 26 arriving from abroad (Australia 7, Israel 5, Japan 5, Switzerland 4, France, Germany, Mexico, Lithuania, and Saudi Arabia, 1 each). A record-breaking 56 residents/fellows/medical students came.

As usual, the first day was devoted to the Frank B. Walsh Session, organized by the formidable neuro-ophthalmology team from the University of Pennsylvania, led by Nicholas Volpe, MD (Philadelphia). Also from the University of Pennsylvania were Lucy Rorke-Adams, MD, our guest neuropathologist, and Robert A. Zimmerman, MD, our guest neuroradiologist, who enriched the case material with their own collection of stained sections and unusual magnetic resonance images. The intrepid front row sages, apparently undaunted by the thin air, called out most of the answers (well, maybe not all of them). The rest of us were again stumped by the bizarre stories and twisted images generated by the 20 cases selected for presentation.

Kevin M. Barrett, MD, a resident in neurology at the Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Florida, received the award for the best Walsh Session paper by a resident or fellow for his presentation entitled “An Obvious Case of Giant Cell Arteritis.” It proved NOT to be giant cell arteritis at all, of course, but systemic amyloidosis that looked like giant cell arteritis in causing jaw claudication, limb girdle aches, transient monocular visual loss, fatigue, fever, and a high sedimentation rate. Temporal artery biopsy was negative but renal biopsy eventually gave the answer.

In keeping with the whodunit tradition of the Walsh meeting, all case answers, discussions, and references were withheld until the end of the Walsh session, when they were made available in the meeting book. The pathologic and imaging materials related to the case presentations were condensed onto a CDROM and given to each participant.

Extending over the next 3.5 days, the NANOS meeting included symposia on headache, featuring special guests Peter Goadsby, MD (London, England) and Judy C. Lane, MD (Denver, CO), “hot topics,” and pediatric neuro-ophthalmology, 22 platform presentations, 87 posters, and special tutorials on practice management and on the Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library (NOVEL) being developed at the University of Utah.

Christopher Rodarte, BA, Columbia University, New York, received the award for the best presentation by a medical student for his platform talk entitled “A Quantitative Approach to Identifying Delayed Latencies in the Multifocal Visual Evoked Potential.” Clare Fraser, MBBS, Save Sight Institute, Sydney Eye Hospital, Sydney, Australia, received the award for the best presentation by a resident for her platform talk entitled “Multifocal Visual Evoked Potentials in the Differential Diagnosis of Acute Optic Neuritis.” Gabrielle R. Bonhomme, MD, Department of Neurology, University of Pennsylvania, received the award for the best presentation by a fellow for her platform talk entitled “Isolated Pediatric Optic Neuritis: Brain MRI Abnormalities and Risk of Multiple Sclerosis.” Steven F. Stasheff, MD, PhD, Children's Hospital & Beth Israel-Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts, received the Tom & Susan Carlow Young Investigator Award for his paper entitled “Alterations in Spontaneous and Light-Evoked Ganglion Cell Activity During Retinal Degeneration in rd1 Mice.”

At the closing banquet, Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA was honored for his enduring dedication to NANOS in receiving the Distinguished Service Award. Creig Hoyt, MD, was recognized as having been selected to give the 2004 William F. Hoyt Lecture at the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. His lecture, entitled “What We Do Not Know About Amblyopia,” will be published in the September 2005 issue of the Journal of Neuro-Ophthalmology.

The following society members were inducted as NANOS fellows: Valérie Biousse, MD (Atlanta, GA), Bradley K. Farris, MD (Salt Lake City, UT), Robert A. Egan, MD (Portland, OR), Mark Gans, MD (Montreal, PQ), Louise A. Mawn, MD (Nashville, TN), Thomas J. Mehelas, MD (Toledo, OH), Roger E. Turbin, MD (Newark, NJ), Agnes M. F. Wong, MD PhD, FRCSC (Toronto, ON), and Ruth Huna-Baron, MD (Tel Aviv, Israel) (international fellow).

The 2006 NANOS meeting will be held at the Starr Pass Marriott Resort and Spa, Tucson, Arizona from February 26 to March 2. The Walsh Session, organized by Shirley Wray, MD (Boston, MA) and Simmons Lessell (Boston, MA), will again occur on the first day. The 2007 NANOS meeting will be at the Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, Snowbird, Utah from February 9 to 16. The 2008 NANOS meeting will be at the Renaissance Orlando Hotel at Sea World, Orlando, Florida from March 7 to March 13. The 2009 meeting will be in the cold, site and date to be announced. The 2010 meeting will be back at the Starr Pass Marriott Resort and Spa, Tucson, Arizona from February 27 to March 4.

Jonathan D. Trobe, MD

Ann Arbor, Michigan

© 2005 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.