December 2015: Val M. Runge, MD, a note from the Editor

This issue of the journal, as always, has many outstanding articles, representing cutting edge research and technology in diagnostic imaging. An excellent study from Leiden University Medical Center demonstrates altered LV flow after AVSD correction, using MR multicomponent particle tracing. A study from University Hospital Tübingen and Uniklinik Aachen demonstrates the excellent sensitivity of low dose CT for detection of VP shunt complications (with lower radiation dose than a radiographic shunt series), suggesting that radiologists rethink the approach to radiologic evaluation of shunt malfunction. The impact of a further improvement in metal artifact reduction for CT is demonstrated in a phantom study from University Hospital Zurich. Two studies that look towards the future include an investigation of dielectric pads for improved TMJ imaging at 7 T (from University Hospital Zurich) and initial results with an innovative extracellular high relaxivity gadolinium chelate (from Saarland University Medical Center).

Current Issue Highlights


Val M. Runge, MD

ISSN: 0020-9996

Online ISSN: 1536-0210

Frequency: 12 issues / year

Ranking: Radiology, Nuclear Medicine, and Medical Imaging 10/125

Impact Factor: 4.437

Special Issue on Contrast Media
Investigative Radiology will publish a special issue on 'Contrast Media' in 2016. The focus is on current significant advances in knowledge regarding contrast media. Relevant topics include basic science investigations, clinical trials, innovative clinical applications, and safety. With regard to clinical papers, all organ and disease areas will be considered. Submitted manuscripts should significantly advance our knowledge concerning contrast media in MR, CT, or ultrasound.

Manuscripts are now being accepted for consideration. The deadline for submission is January 31, 2016. All papers will be subject to peer review by experts in the field and must comply with the Journal's Instructions for Authors.

We look forward to receiving your submissions.

Best regards,

Val M. Runge, MD,
Editor-in-Chief, Investigative Radiology

Guest Editors:
Peter Caravan, PhD
Marco Essig, MD
Richard Katzberg, MD
Alexander L. Klibanov, PhD
Michael V. Knopp, MD, PhD
Hubertus Pietsch, PhD
Michael F. Tweedle, PhD
Study Highlights 'Important Safety Issue'
A press release for Investigative Radiology shows new results in animals highlighting a major safety concern regarding a class of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) contrast agents used in millions of patients each year.