Share this article on:

Editorial introductions

Section Editor(s): Kaplan, Mariana J.; Ferguson, Polly J.

Current Opinion in Rheumatology: September 2014 - Volume 26 - Issue 5 - p vii
doi: 10.1097/BOR.0000000000000102
Editorial Introductions

Current Opinion in Rheumatology was launched in 1989. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of Rheumatology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.

Back to Top | Article Outline


Mariana J. Kaplan

Dr Mariana J. Kaplan is Senior Investigator and Chief of the Systemic Autoimmunity Branch at the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, National Institutes of Health, USA.

Dr Kaplan's research has focused on identifying mechanisms of organ damage and premature atherosclerosis in systemic autoimmunity. Her laboratory focuses on identifying how innate immunity promotes loss of tolerance and end-organ damage in SLE, rheumatoid arthritis and other systemic autoimmune diseases. Dr Kaplan also has an interest in identifying novel therapeutic targets to prevent premature vascular damage in systemic autoimmune diseases, using a bench to bedside approach. She has been principal investigator in various investigator-initiated clinical trials assessing new treatment approaches in autoimmunity. Dr Kaplan has served in numerous advisory and committee roles with the American College of Rheumatology, Rheumatology Research Foundation, American Association of Immunologists and Lupus Foundation of America and has been a member of the editorial boards of many immunology and rheumatology journals. She is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a recipient of the Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award and the Edmund L. Dubois Memorial Lectureship, both from the American College of Rheumatology.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Polly J. Ferguson

Polly J. Ferguson received her MD from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, USA. She trained as a resident in pediatrics and as a fellow in pediatric rheumatology at the University of Virginia, USA, where she remained to complete a post-doctoral research fellowship. Her first faculty position was at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA. She is currently an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Director of Pediatric Rheumatology at the University of Iowa. Her research is focused on the etiology of autoinflammatory bone disorders including chronic recurrent multifocal osteomyelitis (CRMO). She is engaged in international collaborative projects that have led to the identification of 3 gene defects that can cause sterile osteomyelitis including pstpip2 deficiency in a murine model of CRMO, LPIN2 deficiency in a Majeed syndrome and deficiency of the interleukin-1 receptor antagonist (DIRA). She has published more than 40 peer reviewed publications in addition to multiple book chapters and reviews. She has received funding from the National Institutes of Health, the Children's Miracle Network and the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver Trust. She is listed among the Best Doctors in America.

© 2014 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.