Share this article on:

Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Ophthalmology: July 2010 - Volume 21 - Issue 4 - p vii–viii
doi: 10.1097/ICU.0b013e32833c1515
Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Ophthalmology was launched in 1990. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of Ophthalmology is divided into nine sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Section Editors

Back to Top | Article Outline

Roy S. Chuck

Roy S. Chuck M.D., Ph.D. serves as Chairman and University Professor and holds the Paul Henkind Chair at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Montefiore Medical Center in New York City, USA. He previously held the Tom Clancy Professorship in Ophthalmology and was the director of refractive surgery at the Wilmer Eye Institute of Johns Hopkins University. A cornea and refractive surgery specialist, Dr Chuck has expertise in both the fields of complex corneal transplantation including ocular surface reconstruction, and laser techniques for refractive eye problems and has published, patented and lectured extensively throughout his career.

Dr Chuck, a UC Berkeley trained engineer, graduated from the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons where he received his M.D., Ph.D. degree. He then proceeded on to residency in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the Washington University School of Medicine, USA, where he also served as faculty chief resident. He completed his fellowship training in Cornea and Refractive Surgery at the Doheny Eye Institute of the University of Southern California, USA. Prior to joining Einstein, Dr Chuck served on the faculties of Ophthalmology and Engineering at Washington University, University of Southern California, University of California, Irvine and Johns Hopkins University.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Prabjot Channa

Dr Channa is board certified in Ophthalmology and is Assistant Professor at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She earned her medical degree from Bombay University in Goa, India, and did her Ophthalmology residency at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Dr Channa is Fellowship trained in Cornea, External Disease & Uveitis at Francis I. Proctor Foundation, University of California. She has been at Montefiore Medical Center since 2002. While her practice concentrates on challenging chronic eye diseases, Dr Channa has long held a passion for helping patients with more serious eye dysfunction. Utilizing the most advanced corneal transplant and keratoprosthesis techniques, she has been able to restore sight in people who have lost virtually all vision, related to ocular surface problems.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Kristin Hammersmith

Dr Hammersmith received her medical degree in her hometown from West Virginia University, USA. She completed her ophthalmology residency at the Wilmer Ophthalmological Institute at Johns Hopkins University in 2002. Following subspecialty training in cornea and external disease at Wills Eye Hospital, she joined the Wills Cornea Service. She is currently an instructor at Thomas Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University.

Dr Hammersmith has clinical expertise in corneal disease and surgery and cataract surgery. She has a special interest in ocular surface disorders and diseases affecting children. She is a section co-editor for the Yearbook of Ophthalmology. She is actively involved in fellow and resident education and serves on the residency education and continuing medical education committees at Wills Eye Hospital. She is a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, for which she serves on the Cornea Self-Assessment Committee, and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.