Share this article on:

Editorial introductions

Section Editor(s): Akhtar, Shamsuddin; Rothenberg, David M.; Dutton, Richard P.

Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology: April 2014 - Volume 27 - Issue 2 - p v–vi
doi: 10.1097/ACO.0000000000000068
Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Anesthesiology was launched in 1988. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of anesthesiology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Section Editors for this issue.

Back to Top | Article Outline


Shamsuddin Akhtar

Shamsuddin Akhtar MBBS, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at Yale, USA. Shams completed medical school in Pakistan (Aga Khan University Medical College), before moving to the United States. He then did his residency in anesthesiology at SUNY at StonyBrook, NY, followed by fellowship in critical care medicine at Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, and vascular and thoracic anesthesia at Yale University School of Medicine. He has been on as faculty in the department since 1998 where he has developed a career as a medical educator. He is currently Director of Medical Studies and Director of Anesthesiology Clerkship. His main clinical interests are related to cardiothoracic, vascular, geriatric anesthesia and critical care medicine. Shams's research interests include perioperative medicine (beta-blockers and glucose control) critical appraisal of clinical guidelines and drug dosing in the elderly. He enjoys teaching and has been awarded the Faculty Award for Excellence in Education and Leadership for the Department of Anesthesiology, Yale University School of Medicine, in 2013. He is an active member and Secretary of Society for Advancement of Geriatric Anesthesia (SAGA) and ASA Geriatric Anesthesia Committee. He has published a number of journal articles and book chapters related to perioperative care of cardiac patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery, perioperative beta-blocker use, glucose control and vascular changes in the elderly patients.

Back to Top | Article Outline

David M. Rothenberg

Dr David M. Rothenberg holds the position of The Max S. Sadove MD, Professor of Anesthesiology at the Rush Medical College, USA. He also holds the posts of Residency Program Director for the Department of Anesthesiology, Associate Dean, Academic Affiliations at Rush University Medical Center and Senior Advisor for the Rush University Simulation Laboratory.

Dr Rothenberg received his MD from the University of Illinois, Abraham Lincoln School of Medicine, USA. He completed two residencies at Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center, Illinois, USA, one in the Department of Internal Medicine and the other in the Department of Anesthesiology, becoming Chief Resident at the end of each period. He then completed a fellowship in critical care-anesthesia in the Department of Anesthesiology at Rush University Medical Center.

Dr Rothenberg's special interests include: anesthesiology and critical care medicine; perioperative medical ethics; acid-base interpretation; and renal physiology. Dr Rothenberg has published numerous journal articles on these topics.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Richard P. Dutton

Dr Dutton earned his BA from Harvard University in 1983, his MD from Tufts University School of Medicine in 1987, and an MBA at the University of Maryland in 2001. He completed residency in anesthesiology at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston in 1991 and then served as an attending anesthesiologist at the National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, and Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. In 1994, Dr Dutton joined the Faculty at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center of the University of Maryland in Baltimore, where he served as Director of Trauma Anesthesiology and Director of Clinical Operations. Dr Dutton was promoted to the rank of Professor in 2009, based on his academic interest in trauma system design, emergency airway management and resuscitation from hemorrhagic shock. Although he left the University of Maryland in 2011, Dr Dutton remains active in the trauma anesthesiology research community. Dr Dutton is a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and for numerous journals in trauma and anesthesiology, and is a Member of the Board of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research.

Richard P. Dutton, MD, MBA, is the founding Executive Director of the Anesthesia Quality Institute. The AQI is a non-profit organization of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. The AQI maintains the National Anesthesia Clinical Outcomes Registry and the Anesthesia Incident Reporting System. Aggregated data in the Registries is used to create educational materials, quality management benchmarking reports, academic papers, comparative effectiveness research, and reports for ASA officers and committees. Dr Dutton serves on numerous ASA and federal committees working to develop measures for anesthesia performance, perioperative patient experience and new models of healthcare.

© 2014 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.