For Reviewers

Peer review is an essential element of scholarly publishing. The quality of every article printed in each issue of the journal depends on the dedication and commitment of our expert reviewers. This page offers resources to help our reviewers critically read articles and write and submit their reviews.

Academic Medicine Excellence in Reviewing Award

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2015 Academic Medicine Excellence in Reviewing Award

Dorothy Andriole, MD
Washington University
School of Medicine

Louise Arnold, PhD
University of Missouri - Kansas City
School of Medicine 

Gregory Bump, MD
University of Pittsburgh
School of Medicine 

Patricia Carney, PhD
Oregon Health & Science University

Teresa Chan, MD
McMaster University 

Erica Friedman, MD
Sophie Davis School of
Biomedical Education CCNY

Larry Gruppen, PhD
University of Michigan

Anna Kaatz, PhD, MPH
University of Wisconsin - Madison 

Charles D. Magee, MD, MPH
Uniformed Services
University of the Health Sciences

Bridget O’Brien, PhD
University of California,
San Francisco 

Lynne Robins, PhD
University of Washington
School of Medicine 

Adam Sawatsky, MD, MSc
Mayo Clinic 

Daniel Shine, MD
NYU Langone Medical Center

Kimberly Swygert, PhD
National Board of
Medical Examiners 

Sebastian Uijtdehaage, PhD
Uniformed Services
University of the Health Sciences

Lara Varpio, PhD
Uniformed Services
University of the Health Sciences

*View a list of past winners


Academic Medicine Master Reviewers

With tremendous gratitude, the journal recognizes as Master Reviewers those reviewers who have qualified for the Academic Medicine Excellence in Reviewing award three or more times. Their continued dedication is an enormous benefit to our authors and editors.

Qualified Three Times
John Ely, MD
University of Iowa

Grace Huang, MD
Harvard Medical School and Beth Israel Deaconess

Thomas S. Huddle, MD, PhD
University of Alabama School of Medicine

William Norcross, MD
University of California, San Diego

Qualified Four Times
Mark Cummings, PhD
Michigan State University (Retired)

Frederic Hafferty, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Rika Maeshiro, MD, MPH
Association of American Medical Colleges

Qualified Five Times
Carl Stevens, MD, MPH