Academic Medicine

Skip Navigation LinksHome > January 2014 - Volume 89 - Issue 1 > The Accreditation System After the “Next Accreditation Syste...
Academic Medicine:
doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000000068

The Accreditation System After the “Next Accreditation System”

Nasca, Thomas J. MD, MACP; Weiss, Kevin B. MD; Bagian, James P. MD, PE; Brigham, Timothy P. MDiv, PhD

Collapse Box


The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Board of Medical Specialties and its member boards introduced the six domains of physician competency in 1999. This initiated a national dialogue concerning the elements of competency of the physician, and incorporation of these elements into the framework of evaluation of residents and fellows, as well as the educational programs within which they are trained. The next step in this process will be the ACGME’s Next Accreditation System, which the authors describe in this commentary. Recognizing that there are already developments in the assessment of medical education that will influence future models of accreditation, the authors consider some of these innovations and discuss how they may shape the next accreditation system after the Next Accreditation System.

© 2014 by the Association of American Medical Colleges


Article Tools


Article Level Metrics